Homesick for Boston

24 Jul

I’ve been away from home for over 2 and a 1/2 months. With only 3 weeks left of my internship in North Carolina, it’s high time I started getting homesick for my hometown of Boston. Obviously, I miss my friends and family (Katie, Jess, Megan, Jenn, Devin, Mom, Dad, April, nephs, He Who Will Not Be Named…) Other than precious people, these are the things I miss the most…


1. Road Rage

Besides the drive-by shootings, I haven’t seen road rage once here. I actually miss getting cut off, then leaning on my horn and swearing at someone through two layers of glass and ample distance. It’s such a stress reliever.

IMG_0121

2. The North End

I’ve never had the money to go to Europe (hopefully that will change come next summer…), but there is no better local Italian than the stuff the families cook up in this little neighborhood. Dearest Mediterranean raviolis, a cannoli, and a cappucino, all for $20? I miss you.

3. Amvets

I tried shopping at the Goodwill here in North Carolina. It’s good if you’re looking for worn-out rayon clubbing -wear, I suppose. Shudder. I miss my Amvets, smack-dab in the middle of the ghetto, where I bought a J.P. Gaultier blazer and Vivienne Westwood jacket for $4 each. Because the average customer there doesn’t know Prada from Kathy Van Zeeland. It’s like stealing candy from a baby. :)

4. Wearing a sweatshirt in the middle of summer

Going camping in the summer in Maine, New Hampshire, Connecticut, Rhode Island, or Vermont means packing a coupla hoodies for rainy candy bar Bingo days and cool nights.

5. Bob’s Discount Furniture Commercials with 1980s Special Effects

Color me crazy, but I love waking up to a cup of coffee and a miniature Bob dancing in the the corner of my TV screen.

6. Dunkies

I don’t need a therapist. Just a little box to yell “A medium hazelnut iced coffee with cream and three Splenda” at.

7. People who think they’re wicked smaht

One of my favorite reasons to go to Harvard Square, the Institute of Contemporary Art, or the Museum of Fine Arts is to stand next to the bespectacled smarties or hipsters and listen to the ridiculous things they say. “Ah, this plywood table with a tennis shoe stapled to it must represent the poor and oppressed being stepped on by the wealthy and priveleged” — “Ah, yes, I concur.” Actually, my friends, you just stumbled into the supply closet where Mr. BeeBo the learning impaired janitor was working on a craft project.

Where am I?

"Where am I?"

8. Die-hard Red Sox fans

If I hear one more Tarheels comment I’m gonna throw up. I need me some red and white.

9. Serious Accents

I go into a gas station here and hear “Ha, how’re yu doin?” — I bump into someone, say I’m sorry, and without fail hear “Yer fahn, yer fahn.” VOMMMM. I miss walking into a gas station and hearing “Howaya, c’i getta packa Newports? ..Thanks take care.”

10. Being LOUD and being around LOUD PEOPLE!

Everyone here is quiet and proper. It’s really annoying because I often get shushed in the workplace, or on my lunchbreak, or in public, or in general. I’m loud – it’s who I am! Let me be who I am, North Carolina!

11. That Northeast sense of humor

Whether loud and obvious a la Chris Farley, or dry a la The Office, I miss the Northeast sense of humor. People just don’t joke around here like they do up North. One time I tried to sneak out early from a TERRIBLE improv show (don’t ask) and the magician intercepted my friends and I on our way out. His dress shirt was ridiculously wrinkly, so I told him “Good job ironing your shirt tonight.” My friends were APPALLED – and he was too. Don’t they know that, in the Northeast, making fun of someone is a playful way to engage in laughter? You must not take these insults seriously! (Regretfully, after I said this there was just awkward silence.)

August 20th I go meet up with the family for camping in New York (my sweatshirt will come in handy I’m sure), then I’m going home! :)

10 Responses to “Homesick for Boston”

  1. Kelly July 27, 2009 at 3:53 pm #

    i know how you feel lol i’m moving to illinois for college in the fall and it’s so NOT the northeast.

    i really will miss those bob’s commercials :(

  2. F'n Glass July 27, 2009 at 6:45 pm #

    uhh, I noticed I am not listed as one of the people you miss. Nice. Real nice.

  3. ummmmheyyyy August 2, 2009 at 2:43 pm #

    The truth hurts, Ryan. haha

  4. Jenn September 7, 2009 at 2:28 am #

    I feel you all to well on this one… I moved to Missouri from East Bridgewater about two and a half years ago. I’m originally from Texas.. but nothing feels like home more than Southern Mass!

  5. ummmmheyyyy September 17, 2009 at 8:55 pm #

    That’s funny, I go to Bridgewater State!

  6. Jenn September 17, 2009 at 9:05 pm #

    I worked at the CVS in EB for three years (’03 to ’07) and my husband lived in EB for at least ten years. I had looked into going to Bridgewater State, but we ended up moving before I could get serious about it. Much luck to you!

  7. ummmmheyyyy September 17, 2009 at 9:09 pm #

    Thanks! I’m a senior and I can’t wait to graduate. :)

  8. kelly August 4, 2010 at 1:35 am #

    I loved all your comments. Born and raised in Boston and at 39 decided to move to NC. What was I thinking!!!!!!!!!!!! I miss Boston so so much..nothing compares

  9. ummmmheyyyy August 4, 2010 at 1:57 am #

    Where in NC? I spent last summer working in Greenville. I love the western part of the state more though – however I do have a special fondness for the Outer Banks.. there’s nothing like a Southern beach with an actual wave

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. BOB’S DISCOUNT FURNITURE MAINE | Furniture Get - August 6, 2011

    […] bob’s discount furniture maine ummmmheyyyy.wordpress.com […]

Leave a Reply

