Bad Local Commercials

4 Apr

I just found my new Saturday morning activity. (By ‘morning’ I mean from the time I begin mixing my hangover cocktail of coffee and Excedrin, until about 2:30pm.) My new activity is Watching Bad Local Commercials on Youtube. Bad local commercials usually have one or all of the following qualities:

  • Dead eyes
  • Visually unappealing film quality
  • Echoing words (ex. “No Money Down -Down -Down -Down”)
  • Awkward physical movements (ex. the wavering point of a finger)
  • Use of 1980s special effects (ex. The Mirror Effect)picture-5

These ones had me laughing.

1.

“They-fuh-leh tellmeboutoneeyehundedtoosellhomes” Oh, and WHY ARE WE STANDING IN FRONT OF THESE BATHING SUITS??

2.

It’s more fun if you replace the word “model” with “bitch”:

3.

At 0:52 she’s laughing at the silly ghost that just flew by.

These guys on Youtube share my fixation with all things local-commercial, plus they’re hilarious. I messaged them telling them that I would Internet-stalk them until I met them this summer (they live in North Carolina, which is where I’ll be for my internship).

I think it’s genius that they love local commercials enough to make bad local commercials for real businesses. Because that’s what it’s all about. Paying it forward. Coming full circle. Keeping the faith. Clicheing the phrase.

9 Responses to “Bad Local Commercials”

  1. Ahmnodt Heare April 4, 2009 at 10:05 pm #

    Here’s a Crazy Eddie “Christmas in August” ad from the 1980s. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fO9XC3tAbkQ

  2. Michael April 6, 2009 at 7:38 am #

    Faak, I don’t think any of those models could suit any of my needs, unless they I had a “really hagged out ugly tranvestite looking” fetish.

    Which I don’t.

  3. ummmmheyyyy April 6, 2009 at 11:54 pm #

    Are you sure?

  4. ummmmheyyyy April 6, 2009 at 11:57 pm #

    One would think Crazy Eddie’s prices would be crazy rather than “insane”

  5. JennBerry April 11, 2009 at 3:51 pm #

    The first two are hilarous!

    1. – Why does the black woman have to be so stereotypical and bob her head like she has an attitude about selling her house.

    2. and good idea replacing model with bitch. watched it 2 times 1st time it sucked 2nd time soo funny when i started replacing!

  6. Ram Venkatararam April 12, 2009 at 12:29 am #

    I wasn’t planning to comment but the green font plea sucks me in every time.

    I love local commercials. In Toronto, there was a local place called Bad Boy and they produced some nasty stuff. The owner/star ended up getting hair plugs and becoming mayor. Go figure.

  7. ummmmheyyyy April 12, 2009 at 2:39 am #

    Jenn – & why does she run all her words together in a stereotypical way – i love it. The white woman obvi feels so much better than her. lame! haha

  8. ummmmheyyyy April 12, 2009 at 2:40 am #

    ram – That was actually my dad. I’m somewhat of an hieress of the Bad Boy fortune.

  9. Ram Venkatararam April 15, 2009 at 3:02 am #

    My condolences, Ms. Lastman. You have a very unfortunate family…

Leave a Reply

