ummmmheyyyy…PAUSE!

22 Feb

EDIT: I’m back

I’m taking a break from writing posts for awhile.

Because I’ve begun writing a children’s story. And yes, it will be a challenge to keep the sexual innuendo and violent imagery to myself when writing for this delightful age group.

Though I won’t be writing (posts), I’ll keep reading yours. (How could I ever stay away from the enthralling words typed by those in my Blogroll Extra Soysauce?)

Wish me luck,
Samantha

P.S. I welcome any advice or words of wisdom.

15 Responses to “ummmmheyyyy…PAUSE!”

  1. Ahmnodt Heare February 22, 2009 at 5:05 am #

    I will miss reading your blog, but I understand. You don’t want innuendo in children’s stories nor do you want “Once Upon a Time… They Lived Happily Ever After” writings for an adult audience either.

  2. Michael February 22, 2009 at 5:43 am #

    Yay! I made your blogroll (joy).

    I think childrens books are amazingly tough, the one’s that suck are literal and obvious, writing down to children like an adult speaking in baby talk. I think the trick is to use more subtle metaphors to convey a deeper meaning, for example, the characters in the Wizard of Oz all represent something, but because they are colorful kids love them.

    Not the sequel mind you, that opened with Dorothy in a mental institution.

  3. ummmmheyyyy February 22, 2009 at 9:13 pm #

    Something kids and parents can both enjoy. Like Shrek, or getting naked.

  4. Michael February 22, 2009 at 9:18 pm #

    Ha! Now you are on the right track, don’t mix the two though, recipe for unhappiness.

  5. Michael February 22, 2009 at 10:00 pm #

    Oooh! One more thing, Malcolm Gladwell did a really good treatment on children’s programming in “The Tipping Point” (a book about hidden factors leading to trends and ideas being incredibly successful) discussing the phenomena’s of Sesame Street (kid and adult friendly) versus Blue’s Clues (kid only friendly) and that may help too.

  6. ummmmheyyyy February 23, 2009 at 2:26 am #

    Thanks for the tip. I’ll look into the book.

  7. Michael February 23, 2009 at 3:33 am #

    I could get a pretty good look at a T-bone by sticking my head up a bulls ass, but I’d rather take the butchers word for it…wouldn’t you?

  8. ummmmheyyyy February 23, 2009 at 3:49 am #

    This entry is such a chatroom right now. RIP Chris Farley.

  9. Michael February 23, 2009 at 4:10 am #

    It’s true, and more ironically to your point I’m only pretending to be a father of three online, when in reality I’m a 15 year old girl, just to get in on the children’s literature debate.

    Kudo’s to Chris Farley as well, Tommy Boy was brilliant.

  10. kennedy121 February 23, 2009 at 8:58 pm #

    WELL, you could always retain the sexual innuendo and ensure it would only be fully comprehensible to parents reading the story to their kids, while it comes across as perfectly innocent to anyone under 12. It’s probably a dangerous thing to attempt (and possibly quite weird), but hey, it worked for The Simpsons!

  11. ummmmheyyyy February 23, 2009 at 10:02 pm #

    Smart – but I won’t be the one to do it. Kids are so innocent. I just don’t have the heart to step on that.

  12. brucehood February 24, 2009 at 7:12 pm #

    The origins of children’s fairy stories were oral morality tales meant to frighten them into being good. The original pre-Disney versions were truly gruesome..

    Oral… morality…. tails…. oops, I seem to have Freudian slipped up.

  13. ummmmheyyyy February 25, 2009 at 7:56 pm #

    I believe it. They’re the same way today! Education always has a hidden agenda..

  14. Ymiss February 26, 2009 at 3:56 pm #

    Hey came by your site through Michael’s blogroll. Goodluck with the children’s book! I had to write one as part of my degree, was the most amazing assignment we ever got. Looking to get it published, well my tutor is I don’t have the time :( If you want to have a look at some of the lecture notes we were given just for ideas etc I would gladly email them you. This world needs more childrens books :)

  15. ummmmheyyyy February 26, 2009 at 7:54 pm #

    absoluuuuutely I would!

Leave a Reply

