Getting Personal with Samantha

17 Feb

I apologize for skimping on the text lately. New England is boring me. I have travel fever, but I’m locked down by school and an ill-paying internship. And I don’t mean “ill” as in “That’s one ill muh fucka!”

I have been practicing various forms of escapism as a way to take my mind off of my mundane daily life. I have been reading this book:

which is very, very good (but the ultimate test will be   when I actually get to the city on March 8th.) I have been applying to summer jobs and internships. I have been jealously reading travel blogs, my favorite one as of late being Nomadic Matt, written by a guy that did the college thing, got his Masters, got a job, then quit everything and became a gypsy. A gypsy that owns a laptop and updates frequently from the road.

I have also been enjoying the company of this handsome fellow:

Last, I spend most showers and commutes fantasizing about future  occupations, most of them associated with travel. Oh man that sounds pathetic. Oh well. The most recurring occupational fantasies are

1. Me as Host of a TV show on the Travel Channel

<–Optional slogan: ‘Sit at home and watch people travel on TV’

2. Me as a Writer for a TV show on the Travel Channel (which leads to imagining a life of poverty and frequent writers’ strikes, not to mention getting taken advantage of by everyone in a suit – hey, isn’t that what happens? & THAT’s why I’m getting a business degree instead of an English degree)

3. Me as Author of assorted nonfiction bestsellers (don’t worry – I would NEVER curse the world with a book as shitty as Steven Covey’s 7 Habits of Highly Effective People)

4. Me as a Camerawoman for Anthony Bourdain’s show on the Travel Channel

<–“You’re a little close”

5. Me taking over Samantha Brown’s job on the Travel Channel (Let’s face it. Eventually she’ll age out of hosting)

It’s okay, I hate New England too—->

5. Me as Vice President of Viacom (you know, the keyholder to Comedy Central, MTV, VH1, Nickelodeon, Paramount Pictures, etc.)

6. Me as Marketing Extraordinaire for Viacom

7. Me as a Travel Writer (I suppose freelancing is a start..)

I’ll stop at seven.

My next trip is Brooklyn/Manhattan from March 8th – 12th. I haven’t written my Manhattan entry yet because I’m still planning the itinerary. (Yea, I’m one of those people.)

I just hate the thought of coming back home. :(

8 Responses to “Getting Personal with Samantha”

  1. Ahmnodt Heare February 17, 2009 at 2:17 pm #

    When I am planning my campaign trips and I don’t have the money to travel, I always hop on a passing freight train. It’s free, as long as nobody sees you. I look for a soft area to jump when the train arrives near my destination.

  2. ummmmheyyyy February 17, 2009 at 11:30 pm #

    What a coincidence, at one point I briefly considered becoming a hobo. Great minds think alike!

  3. Rachel February 19, 2009 at 3:16 am #

    That “7 Habits” book is horrendous, I’m certainly with you on that…

    Being VP of Viacom does sound pretty good, I have to say. I bet it would make getting tickets to The Daily Show/The Colbert Report a hell of a lot easier.

  4. ummmmheyyyy February 19, 2009 at 4:51 am #

    My thoughts exactly. Plus “going to work” would mean immersing myself in all things Stephen Colbert. . . ….and other things such as Charm School and whatever other horrible TV shows MTV is now playing

  5. jennnberrry February 23, 2009 at 10:58 pm #

    whoa – whoa – whoa – Stephen Covey is the Man. Hes right up there with my man Scott Peck. Don’t hate cuz you Don’t understand. sighhh. . .

    Uhm. – Samantha Brown. Lets get 2 clubs – you go for the Knees I’ll go for the face – If she can’t stand and look pretty she’s out of the job. Then they’ll take the nearest Sam there is. Vawala! Samantha McCormick the new Samantha Brown.

    Mission Complete.

  6. ummmmheyyyy February 24, 2009 at 4:39 am #

    I don’t get how you – Jenn Berry – of all people – enjoy reading Stephen Covey.

    Thanks for turning me into Samantha Brown by the way. I’m a little saddened by my new child-bearing hips and corny lipstick though.

  7. JennBerry. February 27, 2009 at 12:46 pm #

    Stephen Covey is Wonderful. – Very insightful.
    I like that kinda stuff – The Road Less Traveled by Scott peck is by far my fav book I’ve read that like at least 10 times – you should check it out.

    It set me straight.

  8. ummmmheyyyy February 27, 2009 at 8:57 pm #

    I hate Stephen Covey, period. I had to read that book in high school.

    But I’ll have to try The Road Less Travelled if Jenn Berry likes it. You chatted it up all summer long!!

Leave a Reply

