My Alternative Spring Break

31 Jan

In March, I’m doing an Alternative Spring Break. No, not the kind that involves building a 10×10 house for a family of 8 that will fall down in three weeks (hey, that’s what you get for telling 40 Catholics to pick up a hammer for the first time). Plus I’m a little too self-centered to spend my spring break on someone else. Rather, I will be embarking upon SPRING BREAK IN BROOKLYN! (See Figure 1).

Figure 1

springbreak

The Boyfriend and I will Jetblue our way to New York, where we will sleep in bunkbeds in a Brooklyn hostel for 4 nights. I decided against staying in Manhattan because I’ve never been to Brooklyn. And ever since I saw the movie The Squid and the Whale, I’ve kept Brooklyn in the back of my mind as a future place of residence. (This might mean that I am attracted to dysfunctional families, and the places they choose to live.) Anyway, this trip will be a good chance to get to know the ‘hood.

The Internet told me that these are some of the things I should do..

!!!PICTORAL ITINERARY TIME!!!

coney-island-off-season2

 1. Visit Coney Island

It won’t be open in March; hence the somber, foggy picture to the left and the melodramatic solitary two people. However, 99 cents will get me into the Coney Island Museum (or, 198 cents for both The Boyfriend and I. And I intend to pay in all pennies). In their eloquent words,

“It’s full of fun stuff to look at.”

I can’t wait to see all the escapist things that unemployed Depression-era Americans threw their money at. Kind of like throwing money in the basket at Church..

2. Visit Brooklyn Botanic Garden

Boh-tan-ick? Bot-an-ick? Either way, I will be visiting it (sorry, Greg). The “world-famous” Cranford Rose Garden (first time I’ve heard of it) will be closed in March, but we can check out the Children’s Garden, which now includes children as young as three years old. Can’t wait to pick out a bouquet of fresh-cut children.

 3. Eat Brooklyn Pizzabrooklyn-pizza

On my last trip to NYC, my cousin/best friend Katie and I walked all the way from where the Fung Wah bus pooped us out in Chinatown to the Fashion Institute of Technology. We wanted authentic New York pizza. What we got were squares of hard brown stuff topped with room-temperature mozzarella and broccoli farts, a steal at $4.75.  With the help of Slice, maybe Greg and I can find some organic matter worth digesting.

brooklyn-bridge

4. Walk across the Brooklyn Bridge

Best views of Manhattan, etc. This is a perfect segway for my upcoming entry on things to do in Manhattan, entitled “Oh, Manhattan Too I Guess.” And I’m ruining this perfect segway opportunity with:

 

 

 

The Beastie Boys’ “No Sleep til Brooklyn”

**Please note the heinous ‘smashing-record’ sound effect**

6 Responses to “My Alternative Spring Break”

  1. Joe January 31, 2009 at 3:24 pm #

    If you walk across the Brooklyn Bridge (from Manhattan into Brooklyn) you can go to Grimaldi’s. They have arguably the best pizza in the entire city.

    http://www.grimaldis.com/

  2. ummmmheyyyy January 31, 2009 at 9:31 pm #

    Thanks! That’s what I’ve heard too. We’ll definitely have to go there.

  3. James McKenna February 1, 2009 at 2:18 am #

    new york 2010? :-)

  4. ummmmheyyyy February 1, 2009 at 4:38 am #

    yup. just got the bachelors’ degree holding me down til then..

  5. Ahmnodt Heare February 12, 2009 at 2:08 pm #

    Trees are rare in Brooklyn. They are so rare that when one grew, somebody wrote a book about it. If you are looking for cheap New York entertainment, I would suggest hanging out at the Elmhurst Gas Tanks. While the tanks themselves aren’t exciting, there is an accident in the vicinity almost every day. Those are fun to watch.

  6. ummmmheyyyy February 12, 2009 at 6:29 pm #

    An accident like the gas station scene in Zoolander? If so, I’ll jot it down on the itinerary..

Leave a Reply

