Contemporary Art Is Stupid

2 Mar

Contemporary art is not my cup of tea. Today at Boston’s Institute of Contemporary Art, I sat through a five-minute film of tar being poured over a pile of sugar cubes. That’s five minutes of my life that I’ve lost forever. I walked through a room that showcased a large plywood table with a bunch of crap on it. That’s half a room of heat wasted on an inanimate object. I even spent thirty seconds reading a caption next to a giant photograph of a pigeon, when my sister Jess gushed “That’s so cool, they took a picture of a pigeon in a studio – it symbolizes freedom in captivity” and I responded “Which is essentially the same thing as taking a picture of a goldfish in a bowl.” (And she laughed. I love that my sister can be deep but can laugh at herself.)

The Pigeon:

Two exhibits that were worth my time were Rania Matar’s black and white photography and a gigantic collection of Shepard Fairey’s street art, which has become a media/people -magnet.

But what I enjoyed most about visiting the Institute of Contemporary Art was not the art at all – it was the ocean.

pic_0063

The ICA building juts out over the Atlantic Ocean. Walking through or sitting in the above space is trippy. It was especially trippy today, in this foggy, snowy weather.

pic_0066

pic_0064

Here in New England, we have no choice but to find beauty in the bleak. For example, I’ve found the beauty in tonight’s Nor’easter: No Sunday night homework since there’s no class tomorrow. [crosses fingers]… And I suppose I find beauty in the bleakness of contemporary art when I laugh at the stupidness of it.

Do you need a laugh?

The Crap-On-A-Plywood-Table exhibit won a $25,000 award. FUCKING RIDICULOUS.

All photos are my own except #s 1 and 2. And yes, I’m back from my sabbatical. I guess I just can’t resist the instant gratification of having others read my words.

8 Responses to “Contemporary Art Is Stupid”

  1. Michael March 3, 2009 at 5:53 am #

    Though clearly the photo simultaneously evokes a sense of isolation and longing for connection, I think because of the magazines.

  2. Tambra March 3, 2009 at 6:51 am #

    Just dropping by.Btw, you website have great content!

  3. Ahmnodt Heare March 4, 2009 at 1:59 am #

    That table reminds me of when I lived in the Poconos and half the pickup trucks had flatbeds made of plywood. If that table can win, so can my design for vinyl diapers and fiberglass tampons (for extra absorbency.

  4. ummmmheyyyy March 4, 2009 at 2:18 am #

    hahaha gross imagery.

  5. Mame March 6, 2009 at 2:54 am #

    Glad you’re back. You’re funny! And reading your posts about Boston make me feel even better about leaving that nasty weather behind.

  6. Ram Venkatararam March 7, 2009 at 1:43 am #

    Interesting. Perhaps it is time for me to dabble in contemporary art? I assume there are huge endowments and grants associated with these works.

    I have no tar but a great deal of deep fryer grease that I would be happy to put to use.

    Thanks for the post.

  7. ummmmheyyyy March 7, 2009 at 3:07 am #

    Mame – who are you?

  8. Mame March 7, 2009 at 3:52 am #

    Just a former Bostonian living in NYC.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 47 other followers

